Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards that all Early Years' providers must meet. EYFS sets out the standards for learning, growth, development and care of children from birth to five years old.

The EYFS gives parents and carers confidence that the statutory commitments and principles that underpin your child's learning and development experience are fully supported and implemented.

The EYFS consists of three prime areas and four specific areas of development.

EYFS Framework.

Whilst we implement the EYFS framework, we at First Day Nursery Hackney, believe the child creates the curriculum, and the adult delivers the curriculum. 

Through our curiosity approach we follow the following principles:

The Curiosity Approach aims to give children back their freedom by igniting their natural curiosity and imagination.

Curiosity Approach promotes every aspect of outdoor learning. Whether it be bug hunting, digging in the sand, planting seeds in old tires, climbing, rolling, or den making, there are so many ways to develop children's talents and interests.

The benefit of adopting the Curiosity Approach is that it allows children to think for themselves, make their own choices and direct their own learning.

Practitioners are nurturers, and are guides who help facilitate the exploration of children's interests.

Parents/ carers are partners in children’s learning and development.

At First Day Nursery, we follow the EYFS and staff receive regular training and support in all EYFS related matters

FDN Page Border
FDN Page Border
FDN Ofsted Logo
Hackney Council Logo
FDN Daynurseries Logo